Friday, October 22, 2010

Eminem 6th Album "Relapse"

Relapse is the sixth studio album by American rapper Eminem, released May 15, 2009, on Interscope Records. It is his first album of original material since Encore (2004), following a five-year hiatus from recording due to his addiction to sleeping pills and issues with writer's block. Recording sessions for the album took place during 2007 to 2009 at several recording studios, and production was handled primarily by Dr. Dre, Mark Batson, and Eminem. Conceptually, Relapse concerns the ending of his drug rehabilitation, rapping after a fictional relapse, and the return of his Slim Shady alter-ego.

One of the most anticipated album releases of 2009, Relapse debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 608,000 copies in its first week. It produced three singles that attained chart success and has been certified double platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America. The album received generally mixed reviews from most music critics, who were mostly divided in their responses towards Eminem's lyrics. It earned him two Grammy Awards and has sold over two million copies in the United States.

In the initial recording stages of Relapse, record producer and long-time Detroit collaborator Jeff Bass of the Bass Brothers worked with Eminem on 25 tracks, for two years after the rapper had received treatment for his sleeping pill addiction in 2005.[4][16] Depressed by Proof's death, Eminem fell into a period of "writer's block", where he felt everything he wrote was not worth recording.[6] To compensate for this, Bass chose to follow a production style that would allow the artist to rap "off the top of his head, as opposed to writing a story."[16] Eminem would then freestyle or record vocals one line at a time before interrupting and then recording another line.[6] At the same time, according to Eminem's song rights supervisor Joel Martin, the rapper began collecting additional songs without noticing it, as he would often record or produce material initially intended for the musical projects of other artists, but end up with tracks he really liked.[16] "Beautiful", produced by Eminem, was the only song on Relapse that was recorded in these years while he was not sober.
Track listing
All songs were written by Eminem.[65]

No. Title Producer(s) Length
1. "Dr. West" (skit) Dr. Dre, Eminem 1:29
2. "3 a.m." Dr. Dre 5:19
3. "My Mom" Dr. Dre 5:19
4. "Insane" Dr. Dre 3:01
5. "Bagpipes from Baghdad" Dr. Dre, T. Lawrence 4:43
6. "Hello" Dr. Dre, M. Batson 4:08
7. "Tonya" (skit) Dr. Dre, Eminem 0:42
8. "Same Song & Dance" Dr. Dre, D. Parker 4:06
9. "We Made You" Dr. Dre, Eminem, Doc Ish 4:29
10. "Medicine Ball" Dr. Dre, M. Batson 3:57
11. "Paul" (skit) Dr. Dre 0:19
12. "Stay Wide Awake" Dr. Dre 5:19
13. "Old Time's Sake" (featuring Dr. Dre) Dr. Dre, M. Batson 4:38
14. "Must Be the Ganja" Dr. Dre, M. Batson 4:02
15. "Mr. Mathers" (skit) Dr. Dre, Eminem 0:42
16. "Déjà Vu" Dr. Dre 4:43
17. "Beautiful" Eminem 6:32
18. "Crack a Bottle" (featuring Dr. Dre & 50 Cent) Dr. Dre 4:57
19. "Steve Berman" (skit) Dr. Dre 1:29
20. "Underground" Dr. Dre 6:11

No comments:

Post a Comment